Franklin Mosher Baldwin Memorial Fellowships for Developing Countries Students, 2015

"Franklin Mosher Baldwin Memorial Fellowships"Franklin Mosher Baldwin Memorial Fellowships are intended for scholars and students with citizenship in a developing country who wish to obtain an advanced degree from an institution outside the student’s home country. The Baldwin Fellowship program is based on a realistic assessment of needs and priorities. Many developing nations possess extraordinary resources in the field of prehistory. The stewardship and careful use of these assets is a task of international importance. By enabling bright young scholars to obtain graduate education, The Leakey Foundation is helping to equip these individuals to assume a leadership role in the future of paleoanthropology and primatology. The Fellowships were the brainchild of former Board President Dr. Edwin Munger and Elisabeth G. O’Connor, the widow of Franklin Mosher Baldwin. Baldwin, a distinguished attorney, took a lively interest in the search for human origins until his death. Hoping to honor her late husband’s dual interests in early humans and education, O’Connor embraced the idea of a program to educate African scholars in prehistory and paleoanthropology. Today the award has been expanded to include studies in primatology and is available to citizens from developing nations. Since 1978, more than 70 Baldwin Fellowships have been awarded. Recipients include scholars from the following countries: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Iran, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Turkey, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Zambia and the Republic of Congo.

Study Subject and Level:

Fellowships are awarded for a program related to the study of human origins or evolution. These Fellowships for advanced special training or studies leading towards an M.A or PhD.

Eligibility to apply:

  • Only scholars with citizenship in a developing country are eligible.
  • The applicant must have a Home Sponsor who is a member of the institution where the applicant is affiliated in the home country, as well as a Host Sponsor who is a member of the institution which the candidate plans to pursue training. Should an award be made, the Host Sponsor must be willing to assume responsibility for overseeing the candidate’s training. Since the Baldwin Fellowship is intended to be a partnership between the candidate and both the Home and Host Institutions, it is expected that candidates will be offered support by these institutions in the form of financial assistance and, upon completion of training, employment in the home country.

Scholarship Open for:

For developing countries students (Afghanistan, Gambia, Mozambique, Bangladesh, The Guinea, Myanmar, Benin, Guinea-Bisau, Nepal, Burkina Faso, Haiti, Niger, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Cambodia, Korea, Dem Rep., Sierra Leone, Central African Republic, Kyrgyz Republic, Somalia, Liberia, Tajikistan, Comoros, Madagascar, Tanzania, Malawi, Togo, Congo, Dem. Rep, Eritrea, Mali, Uganda, Ethiopia, Mauritania, Zimbabwe, Albania, Indonesia, Samoa, Armenia, India, São Tomé and Principe, Belize, Iraq, Senegal, Bhutan, Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Bolivia, Kosovo, South Sudan, Cameroon, Lao PDR, Sri Lanka, Cape Verde, Lesotho, Sudan, Congo, Rep., Marshall Islands, Swaziland, Côte d’Ivoire, Micronesia, Fed. Sts., Syrian Arab Republic, Djibouti, Moldova, Timor-Leste, Egypt, Arab Rep., Mongolia, Tonga, El Salvador, Morocco, Ukraine, Fiji, Nicaragua, Uzbekistan, Georgia, Nigeria, Vanuatu, Ghana, Pakistan, Vietnam, Guatemala, Papua New Guinea, West Bank and Gaza, Guyana, Paraguay, Yemen, Rep., Honduras, Philippines, Zambia, Angola, Ecuador, Palau, Algeria, Gabon, Panama, American Samoa, Grenada, Peru, Antigua and Barbuda, Iran, Islamic Rep., Romania, Argentina, Jamaica, Russian Federation, Azerbaijan, Jordan, Serbia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Seychelles, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Latvia, South Africa, Botswana, Lebanon, St. Lucia, Brazil, Libya, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Bulgaria, Lithuania, Suriname, Chile, Macedonia, FYR, Thailand, China, Malaysia, Tunisia, Colombia, Maldives, Turkey, Costa Rica, Mauritius, Turkmenistan, Cuba, Mexico, Tuvalu, Dominica, Montenegro and Uruguay) are eligible to apply for these Memorial fellowships.

Scholarship Duration: The duration of award is two years.

Scholarship Value:

The maximum award is limited to $12,000 per year. Baldwin Fellowships may be used to cover tuition, travel, living expenses, student fees, insurance, books, and other relevant categories of expenditure. Aid is not provided for family expenses or dependent support, salary and/or fringe benefits of the applicant, nor institutional overhead.

Selection Criteria:

The Baldwin Fellowship program is based on a realistic assessment of needs and priorities.


The Foundation office will notify candidates by May 15th about the status of their applications.

How to Apply?

The original completed formal application should reach the Foundation office via email or /and post by February 15th in order to be considered for funding in the following academic year, which begins in the Fall. A copy of the application must be sent to the Host Sponsor for his/her signature. Please instruct the Host Sponsor to forward this second signed copy to our office. Formal letters of support from both the Home and Host Sponsors must also reach the office by this deadline.

Application Deadline:

There are two different deadlines depending on whether you have previously received a Baldwin Fellowship: February 15 (New Applicants) and March 1st (Returning Applicants).

For further information:

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply